Installing Apache Tomcat 8.0.5 on Ubuntu 14.04

Make sure you have JDK7 or later installed before trying these steps:

1. Download 8.0.5 Core binary distribution having filename, from

2. Extract in a suitable location (e.g. ~/softwares/). And change directory inside apache-tomcat-8.0.5/bin.

3. Make, and executable (chmod +x filename)

4. Run (./

5. Open your browser and goto http://localhost:8080 to check if its running.

One thought on “Installing Apache Tomcat 8.0.5 on Ubuntu 14.04

  1. Hi, I would like to provide some feedback on this. I tried to figure out the steps you described in this article on how to install apache tomcat 8 on mu ubuntu 14.04 vps, but I certainly failed to complete the setup.

    I’ve been trying to install tomcat 8 like almost a week now until yesterday when I stumbled upon the following article which was the real deal.

    Since your article comes up on google when searching for how to install tomcat 8, I thought I would share it here so that it might be helpful to others.

    Anyway, Thank you so much. You have pretty nice articles on various stuff which I learn from.

Leave a Reply

